Safety Consultants    1-888-755-8010

T: 1-888-755-8010


Workplace Safety Blog


Written by:
Fred Rine, CEO of FDRsafety and former long-time Managing Director of Safety and Health at FedEx
Jim Stanley, President of FDRsafety and former U.S. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSHA
Mike Taubitz, Senior Advisor to FDRsafety and former Global Safety Director for General Motors
Rose McMurray, Chief Transportation Advisor to FDRsafety and former Chief Safety Officer of the Federal Motor Carrier Administration

Preventing machine hazards just got easier

February 8th, 2011 posted by Mike Taubitz

Mike Taubitz

If your organization is intent on the control or elimination of hazards before new/rebuilt machines come into your work place, you will want to better acquaint yourself with a new voluntary standard that was recently finalized.

The “A” level standard, ANSI B11.0 -2010, “Safety of Machinery: General Requirements and Risk Assessment,” is designed to eliminate injuries by establishing requirements for the design, construction, reconstruction, modification, installation, set–up, operation and maintenance of machines. It applies to a wide range of machines in many industry sectors.

Prior to publication of B11.0 in December 2010, there were 24 individual “B” and “C” level standards, but it was hard to understand how they all fit together. The “A” level is the overarching standard that pulls it all together with general safety requirements.

This risk-based approach will answer sticky issues related to “I know we have a hazard, but how much risk is there?” The process of B11.0 can marry the reality of the factory floor with design and engineering. Risk assessment is also a valuable tool to help drive continuous improvement by helping management focus on the areas of highest risk.

In addition to being a tool for safety pros, B 11.0 is a tool that can be used by engineering and purchasing personnel as part of their procurement process. It is organized in a manner that complements the typical life cycle of a machine:

• concept / design
• build / purchase
• commission
• production / maintenance
• decommission

For those working on Prevention through Design (PtD is an initiative led by NIOSH), ANSI B11.0 is a must.

Standards are available from B 11 Standards, Inc. Send an email to

Leave a Reply